Back From the Grave... Again

A Warhammer: Invasion Card of the Week


Welcome back to the Warhammer: Invasion card of the week. The Burning of Derricksburg Battle Pack will be on shelves early next week, and with Wednesday’s announcement of the upcoming March of the Damned expansion, there’s plenty to talk about.

March of the Damned, releasing this fall, has garnered great enthusiasm from Warhammer: Invasion fans since its announcement. Today, we’ll take a closer look at one of the new keywords coming your way in this exciting expansion pack: Necromancy.

The March of the Damned rules state that Necromancy “allows a unit to be played from the discard pile as though the unit was in its owner’s hand. The unit enters play from the discard pile, and if it is still in play at the end of the turn, it is put on the bottom of its owner’s deck.”

This begs the question, what if the card isn’t still in play at the end of the turn? What if you could ensure that a card with Necromancy will make its way back into your discard pile, from which it can be played all over again? You can, of course, by sacrificing it.

Wight Lords, one of the cards in March of the Damned, would make a great candidate for this “sacrifice and repeat” combo. Every time this formidable unit enters play, you can choose and destroy one of your opponent’s units! As part of a Chaos deck, for example, you could play the Wight Lord (destroying a target unit), use him to attack, then play a card like Offering of Blood to sacrifice him. This would send him back to the discard pile, avoiding the usual necromancy penalty of burying him at the bottom of your deck.

Join us next week when we take a look at a card from The Fall of Karak Grimaz, the second Battle Pack in The Enemy Cycle!

Discuss this article
in our forums!

Back to all news