News for January 2011
Scratching the Stars 24
A preview for Cosmic Conflict, an expansion for Cosmic Encounter
Cosmic Encounter | Published 06 January 2011

Planets have been disappearing at an alarming rate, leaving no trace of their existence behind, besides the occasional vacant moon...with signs of a gigantic claw tearing through it.

Our exploration of Cosmic Conflict, the upcoming expansion for Cosmic Encounter, as so far uncovered the secrets of Hazard cards and Filth, as well well as they treachery of the Saboteur. Today, we’ll take a quick look at a new alien, sure to scratch that itch for interstellar devastation.

Soon Cosmic Conflict will populate your swelling ranks of playable alien races with plenty of new options. From the speedy Cavalry to the shifty Changeling, each alien race introduces new abilities and unpredictable changes to play. One of these new alien races is sure to be a fan favorite, known and feared by even the staunchest combatants in Cosmic Encounter.

A Stealer of Planets

The Claw has an interesting and terribly destructive special ability, able to snatch planets away from opponents in the blink of an eye. The Claw adds an element of bluffing to the game, making opponents constantly guess which card is secretly the Claw, awaiting to steal their planets away!


(Click to enlarge)

Watch store shelves, because the conflict is coming. Are you prepared?

 

Cosmic Encounter is a classic board game that puts players in charge of the fate of an alien race. Three to five players each strive to be the first to conquer five enemy colonies and establish themselves as the dominant life form in the galaxy. With over 50 alien characters to choose from, no two games are ever the same.

Write Comments     
More News [+]
Comments (24)

Kobold Curry Chef
Published: 1/6/2011 8:02:16 PM
#12

@Bill:  Yep, that'd do it.  I'll have to house rule that one so that The Claw can place a new claw during Regroup if he has no claw.  Hand Zap could do something similar, if The Claw somehow draws 8 N cards.

Just_a_Bill
Published: 1/6/2011 7:46:39 PM
#11

@KCC:

  1. The Claw steals planet.
  2. Claw card returns to The Claw's hand.
  3. Finder is played, taking former claw card from The Claw.
  4. The Claw has no card left to place on sheet.
  5. There's no way to get a new card onto sheet after drawing a new hand.
Joe K.
Published: 1/6/2011 6:39:29 PM
#10

Oh Noes!! The Claw just snatched Leviathan from Cosmic Incursion!!!

Kobold Curry Chef
Published: 1/6/2011 6:14:06 PM
#9

Bill,

I don't see how Finder could affect The Claw so severely. The claw card is not part of anyone's hand, right?

Just_a_Bill
Published: 1/6/2011 1:44:30 PM
#8

@crimhead: Yes, that's definitely what it says, but I doubt that's what they intended.

@Adam: Couldn't agree with you more. The un-Cosmicy name, power, and history combined with all the rulings questions this will generate (negotiates, Morph duplication, Magician, Sorcerer, Gambler, Fodder, Wild Filch, etc.) and the fact that a well-timed Finder could shut off The Claw's power for the rest of the game make this feel very homebrew to me.

@bioball: Your scenario cannot exist. Nobody can zap you unless you are already trying to use your power. If somebody's playing a zap against somebody else and The Claw's claw is a zap, then The Claw's claw works (unless a third zap is played against the claw-zap).

Hipsu
Published: 1/6/2011 1:11:22 PM
#7

The Claw from Liar Liar? 

crimhead
Published: 1/6/2011 12:58:48 PM
#6

So, your first claw can't be a negotiate, but subsequent claws can be?  This is very strong, I think, negotiates are played a lot.

Adam
Published: 1/6/2011 12:44:20 PM
#5

Poor Leviathan.

Neat alien, but I don't like the alien and power names.  Cosmic has always had one-word alien names and, I believe, one-word power descriptions that are at least slightly different from the name i.e. "Trader" and the power to "trade," not "The Trader" and the power of "The Trader."  Why not just call it Claw, with the power to seize, or the power to snatch?

bioball
Published: 1/6/2011 11:39:40 AM
#4

So if you played a Cosmic Zap as the "Claw" and an opponent zapped you, you would not get a planet. Right?

Kobold Curry Chef
Published: 1/6/2011 11:27:32 AM
#3

Awesome power.  I love how the separate planet discs in this edition are inspiring such creative new aliens!!

homertve
Published: 1/6/2011 11:05:50 AM
#2

This power is simply brilliant

bioball
Published: 1/6/2011 10:43:32 AM
#1

I LOVE that picture. I believe it just might be the best one so far.

© 2014 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS