News for February 2010
Furious Retaliation 13
A look at The Deathmaster's Dance, a Battle Pack for Warhammer: Invasion
Warhammer: Invasion The Card Game | Published 23 February 2010

Old White Wolf will sniff you out,
Old White Wolf with braided hair,
Old White Wolf will hunt you down,
Old White Wolf will rip and tear!
- Middenheimer children’s rhyme

Like a pack of wolves, devotees of the Cult of Ulric fight together, and with a ferocity and prowess that’s admired across the Empire. Followers of the Wolf God believe that ranged weapons are for cowards, and that deception and trickery are entirely without honor... but their presence in your Empire deck will nonetheless let you pull off some combos that are sure to catch your opponent off guard!

Welcome back to the Warhammer: Invasion card of the week series. Today, we’ll look at a card from the upcoming Battle Pack The Deathmaster’s Dance, which will hit store shelves early next week. We’ll also see how it can be used in your Counterstrike-heavy Empire deck to set up a nasty surprise for any would-be attackers.

Ulric’s Fury, joining decks on Monday, gives each of your defending units the Counterstrike 1 ability. Since Counterstrike applies before attacker’s damage, and since you can play it in the action window immediately following your opponent’s declaration of attack, you can potentially wipe out that attack before it even begins!

Of course, your opponent will likely go after an undefended zone... so you’ll just have to take control of that decision away from him. Consider the devastating effects of using Sigmar’s Intervention (a card from the Core Set) to redirect an attack (after attacking units are declared, of course) to a less vulnerable zone, then adding the might of Ulric’s Fury. If it’s a zone in which you’ve already placed Reiksguard Knights, Reiksguard Swordmen, or a similar Counterstrike unit, all the better! Counterstrike stacks, after all.

Or perhaps you’ve got a card like Nordland Halberdiers, which can jump in during any action window (even on your opponent’s turn). With enough resources (and the Empire is known for amassing huge sums), you can throw these hard-hitting warriors down, immediately followed by Ulric’s Fury. Just be sure that your enemy actually commits his attacking units to this costly mistake before you spring your trap!

Join us next week for another Warhammer: Invasion card of the week, and look for The Deathmaster’s Dance on shelves soon!

In Warhammer: Invasion The Card Game, designed by Eric M. Lang, two players develop their kingdoms and lay waste to their foes. Each side is comprised of either the forces of Order or the forces of Destruction as they seek to extend their empire to include the entire Old World. The Living Card Game™ format allows players to customize their gaming experience with monthly Battle Pack expansions to the core game.

Write Comments     
More News [+]
Comments (13)

Deagal
Published: 3/5/2010 2:51:20 AM
#13

I can only see two possibilities in which counterstrike can stack:

1. One unit has already the keyword counterstrike (for example: counterstrike 2) and gains counterstrike (for example through Ulric's Fury) and the counterstrike keywords stack, so that the Unit now has counterstrike 3.

2. One unit gets counterstrike damage from two units with the counterstrike keyword.

 

Option 2. is complete nonsense in my eyes, because it's obvious that if I defend with two counterstrike units that I can hit one attacker with them. This way I only have 1. left, which is... impressive. ;)

This would also mean, that I can play two Ulric's Fury in a row and all my units gain counterstrike 2! :D

 

Mitaniel
Published: 2/28/2010 10:34:20 AM
#12

Where in the rulebook?

Cain_hu
Published: 2/24/2010 7:13:10 AM
#11

In the article :

"If it’s a zone in which you’ve already placed Reiksguard Knights, Reiksguard Swordmen, or a similar Counterstrike unit, all the better! Counterstrike stacks, after all."

So cs2 become cs3 ... it's clear. And yes, it's also staed in the rulebook.

Rakshasa
Published: 2/24/2010 3:37:45 AM
#10

"Any unit dealing damage with the Counterstrike keyword
still participates in the battle and deals normal
combat damage as well.
Note that when a unit is gaining Counterstrike from
multiple sources, the numerical effects stack on top of
each other."

Warhammer: Invasion Rulebook, p. 16.

Whitmire
Published: 2/24/2010 3:33:15 AM
#9

Who said Counterstrikes stack?

"Each unit gains Counterstrike 1." It's pretty simply stated.

If you have Counterstrike 2, you can use it instead of your newly-gained Counterstrike 1, but I don't think you get Counterstrike 3.

FloLeBlanc
Published: 2/24/2010 2:52:07 AM
#8

I'm pretty sure too, that according to the rules counterstrike stacks (cs 2 + cs1 = cs3)

Nice card

Duke_of_the_Blood_Keep
Published: 2/23/2010 6:04:55 PM
#7

 @ Argonel - Pretty sure "Stacks" implies Counterstrike 2 becomes 3. 

Looks like a good card for the Empire, a nasty one for everyone else. 

Argonel
Published: 2/23/2010 5:41:33 PM
#6

When counterstrike stacks does it become counterstrike 3, hitting a single unit harder or counterstrike 1 + counterstrike 2 potentially hitting 2 different targets?  Either way it's pretty nasty, but the more you can spread the pain the the worse it is for your opponent.

Wytefang
Published: 2/23/2010 3:47:56 PM
#5

The next pack doesn't hit until the 1st week of March?   Lame.  :(

Darthvegeta800
Published: 2/23/2010 3:07:17 PM
#4

Looks like a fun card!

JerusalemJones
Published: 2/23/2010 2:44:42 PM
#3

That's a great card, and I expect to see it played against me often.

vermillian
Published: 2/23/2010 1:04:42 PM
#2

Extended the time it takes to play a game more!

Need more speed...

© 2014 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS