I would suggest FFG look over the below thread for questions for the FAQ. It is basically some of the differences between the boardgame and the Omens app. The problem now seems we are playing wrong based on Omens rules or there were more changings made to the Omen rules than FFG stated. Not posting all the changes to the game seems to be the guessing favorite over on BGG on why things are not the same. What is that saying about a man with two watches never knows what time it is? I feel his pain.
Oops, looks like the link above changed. Should point to "Scrolls (is Omens different than board game)" topic under the forum.
Questions concerning Flute of the Outer Gods and Bind Monster.
(A) For Flute of the Outer Gods, the rules concerning Unique Items state that they are spent before rolling the dice, which of the following is correct?
(i) Flute of the Outer Gods states that it is "Discard after rolling..." but does this mean that it must be committed to be used before rolling?
(ii) "Discard after rolling..." supersedes the usual rules so it means that you only have to decide to use it or not after the dice have been rolled.
(B) For Bind Monster, the rules concerning Spells state that they are spent before rolling the dice, is this correct? Must Bind Monster be committed before rolling the dice or can you decide to use it or not after the dice have been rolled?
(C) If I play Flute of the Outer Gods or Bind Monster to defeat a monster, does it count as completing a task? Which of the following is correct?
(i) It counts as completing a task, therefore no other task can be completed using the dice just rolled.
(ii) It doesn't counts as completing a task, it is a "bonus" to the dice just rolled, which means another task can be completed at the same time as defeating a monster.
(D) How does a partial monster task interact with the use of Flute of the Outer Gods / Bind Monster?
(i) Can I use Flute of the Outer Gods / Bind Monster to defeat the monster on a partial monster task without having to complete the requirements not covered by the monster? If I end the turn without resolving the Adventure card, do I still gain the defeated monster.
(ii) Can I use Flute of the Outer Gods / Bind Monster to defeat the monster on a partial monster task without completing the requirements not covered by the monster and use the dice roll to complete a different task? This question only applies if (C) (ii) is true.
(E) How does Flute of the Outer Gods / Bind Monster interact with Terror effects?
(i) If I fail to complete a task using the dice just rolled and in addition the dice produced a Terror effect, can I still use Flute of the Outer Gods / Bind Monster?
(ii) If I fail to complete a task using the dice just rolled and in addition the dice produced a Terror effect, can I still use Flute of the Outer Gods / Bind Monster even if the Terror effect was "You immediately fail this adventure"?
(iii) If I use Flute of the Outer Gods / Bind Monster then Terror effects are ignored because in doing so I completed a task (Terror effects only apply if I fail to complete a task). Is this correct?
(F) If I play Flute of the Outer Gods or Bind Monster to defeat a monster, does the monster have to be in the same location as my Investigator?
(G) If I play Flute of the Outer Gods or Bind Monster to defeat a monster (such as a Chthonian), do I still apply any "Advance the Clock", Sanity loss, or Stamina loss symbols?
(H) If I play Flute of the Outer Gods or Bind Monster to defeat a monster (such as a Hound of Tindalos), when do I get the locked dice back? Immediately or at the end of my turn.
(I) If I play Flute of the Outer Gods or Bind Monster to defeat a Mi-go / Warlock, do I still gain the Unique Item / Clue token?
(J) If I play Flute of the Outer Gods or Bind Monster to defeat a monster, what do I do with the monster marker until the Adventure has been resolved? I have heard that it remains on the Adventure card but turned face-down, is this correct?
I would like some clarification on the following points:
- How can I influence the game? To me it feels like I just randomly tap a location on the map, and then I have to hope that I get the correct green icons.
- Can I choose to use special skills? Even when the skill or inventory icons are glowing, it's not clear when and how to use them.
- When my party is almost dead, (because I don't know how to get the correct green icons) I can to to the entrance... only to lose more life. This seems slightly unfair doesn't it?
- Adventures have titles, and then an icon surrounded by more icons. It looks nice but it doesn't make much sense if you haven't played the boardgame.
- The map screen is very small on the iPhone, you can hardly see the locations. The same goes for the menu on the left. It's so tiny that it's hard to make out what the status of the game is.
- The tutorial text is very long, but still a lot of questions remain unanswered. Maybe you can include a help screen on every game screen?
- It's not very clear how you are progressing in the game, where you can find these elder signs, and how you can improve your chances. I really hope you can improve these issues in an update.
All in all, I found the game both too complex and too simple. The interface is very complex and there are many rules. Yet, as a player you don't have much control over what's happening. Tapping and hoping all will go well.. there's no strategy. I really hope you can improve this!
I would like to point out that this thread (and forum) is for Elder Sign, not Elder Sign: Omens.
If you want to ask questions concerning the Elder Sign: Omens app, then please use the appropriate forum, -> Elder Sign: Omens. This forum is for the boardgame.
While not definitive, I've played 30+ games and attended the Arkham Nights Event a few months ago, so I hope these responses provide some level of clarity.
(A) I play by the "ii" method. After rolling, I determine if I can complete one of the tasks, which defeating a Monster will (or may) do so.
(B) Like all Spells, the rules state they must be cast before rolling dice. Having played with R.L. at the event, the FAQ will no doubt clarify this to read, "After rolling the dice, the player may cast a Spell..."
(C) Yes, conforming with "i". Caveat: Provided that a Monster doesn't cover part of a Task. If that's the case, you would stillneed to roll the other icon to Complete the Task.
(D) You alwys gain the Monster if you defeat the Monster, regardless of completing the Task or the Card.
(E) Using either Flute of the Outer Gods or Bind Monster does Complete a Task. Thus, you DO NOT trigger the Terror Effects.
(G) No. (We did not during the Event)
(H) Here's how I play. I've defeated Hound of Tindalos with a spell or through the rolled dice result. The die becomes immediately available. Before I roll the balance of dice to complete another Task, I may expend a card with that die to use the die.
(J) Take it...you've earned it. Caveat: If the monster is covering (entirely or parially) a a Task. You don't want to forget that you've Completed that portion of the Task. Only then is it a good idea to flip the Monster marker over until the end of your turn.