Well, Penfold already gaves his view on this.
The context is also important: In the thread you've linked, Damon basically stated he hadn't made a final decision, yet. So, it's understandable he didn't want something he said to be stated as a 'fact', particularly if quoted without the complete context.
I did overlook that. Good, then I can quote "safe" rulings directly. Thx for clarifications from all of you. Here is my conversation about the Guardian Pillar + Binding question:
Q: When Guardian Pillar is committed to a story as a character, can effects like Binding or Obscure Linguist remove its icons? (I mean, do the icons actually count as its printed character icons?)
A: No, Guardian Pillar as a character is a "virtual" card, meaning it contains no printed characteristics associated exclusively with a character card. It maintains its subtypes and cost, but skill and icons are not printed but gained. Anything that refers to printed cannot target or otherwise effect those gained characteristics positively or negatively.
Ah, excellent answer! Thanks!
And now that we can see the complete answer we are also provided with an explanation of a 'new', general concept, that of a 'virtual' card which can be useful in explaining similar cards!