so basically Sol's special victory condition is "…and if no other player control the Imperial Palace or Mecatol Power South."?
Isn't this easier to read?
Depends on who's doing the reading. That text seems perfectly clear to you (and to me, by the by), but a rules lawyer playing Sol with that text would probably argue that OR means he only needs one of the two to be uncontrolled in order to win. There will always be rules lawyers who seek to manipulate the text in their favour, and they generally do so by picking apart the text in any way they can. No matter what is actually written. I don't think the text that FFG used is particularly misleading, but of course there will be those who seek to pick it apart for some advantage.
MP3 killed the radio star