It really shouldn't matter who goes first when it comes to collisions. Both units are going to be in the same place at the end of the turn, regardless of who got there first. Even if you move first into a clear area, you're still in a collision when your opponent crashes into you.
Except that you lose your action by crashing into them, whereas they have already used their action… not to mention that you impede their full movement, potentially disrupting their lines…
That's true. I had to look at the rules again. I had thought that ships in contact couldn't fire, rendering most actions useless. I was mistaken, and they just can't shoot AT EACH OTHER.
I played my first game Saturday night. There are advantages and dis advantages to moving last and colliding with another ship. The disadvantage, as we have already discussed, means that you don't get your action. The advantage is that in a collision, your ship moves backward along its path. That means that you will end up behind your potential target. It is bad if you collide with your ONLY target since you can't attack a ship whose base you are touching, but if your enemy is bunched up, chances are you will still be behind (and possibly within Range 1, of another enemy ship. In my game, I used Luke who went after the TIEs who were staying close together. I was behind them and they tried to fly slowly hoping that I would pass, but even when I chose a 2 or 3 movement, I was able to stay behind them when I collided because I always had to move back along my path. Which helped me keep them both in front of me. I know this won't be the case all of the time, but it was an interesting revelation.
Founder of AFewManeuvers
Surely that only works if you had guessed that they would be flying slow? otherwise you would still overtake…
Aye, and if they do a Koiogran turn, you're right in their sights…