I like the video a lot, and look forward to the rest of the battle.
However, I think the units that are in the copters must remain active until the helicopter is deployed. I'm not 100% sure about this, so maybe someone else can verify.
You can activate while on board and off table. On a short table I don't know why the copters deployed like that, they could both have moved 4 and unloaded the Close Assault squads to decimate the Grim Reaper units, we'll find out in episode 17 :)
Major Mishap said:
You can activate while on board and off table.
Found this in the rules:
While a unit is inside a vehicle, it cannot use any skills or perform any actions
unless it possesses a special skill that says otherwise. The unit cannot be activated except
to exit the vehicle. When the vehicle is activated, the units inside it are not.
So if they start off in the vehicle, it is my understanding that they can't be activated until the vehicle is. I take this as including activating to pass.
I could be wrong though.
The FAQ say's the opposite:
We have gone back and forth on this one and FFG says you can pass a unit in a Helo before it is deployed. However, he did do something wrong. You can not pass the hero and then the unit. If you declare a hero in a unit you pass the whole unit. However, it did not change the out come of the battle.
Any chance of lowering the background music, had to turn of after a while as I couldn't here you two speaking.
Hey guys, let me first say your battle reports are great, very informative and a lot of great information for us noobs just getting into the game. That being said, I had a question that I thought you could clarify.
When the SSU player deployed his Fakyeli and shot at the grim reapers inside the building, he rolled for all of his "ignore cover" weapons first. I believe what should have happened is he rolled the grenade weapons separate from the sulfur thrower, because the sulfur thrower is and incendiary blast and is treated differently than other weapons. It is my understanding that you would have rolled one die for each model in the unit (which you did) and every hit inflicts one damage to the unit. Therefore, depending on how many of those 7 dice you rolled together were from the sulfur thrower, you would not have simply been able to assign them all to Ozz to mitigate the damage. Is that correct or am I wrong in my interpretation of the rule?
Thanks for any info. I'm a new player and just recently got into Dust Tactics, so I'm just trying to get a clear understanding of the rules.
Thanks for that, I can hear what you are saying now :)
They did play the shooting ok xBeakeRx as the defender can allocate any hits how he likes.
If you are using a flame weapon that does 1/1 damage and another miniature has a grenade weapon that does 3/1 damage, since they all ignore cover and do a max of one damage just roll them all at once. Now if I was attacking a armor 3 light walker with the same unit I would have to roll the Flame weapon first because it does 1/4 damage and the grenade weapon separate since it only does 1/1.
The defender picks how to distribute the hits across the unit.
Attacking with a unit that has"sniper" ability is the only time the attacker gets to pick who he shot at.
OK, well I guess I was confused by the wording for incendiary weapons in the rule book. The book says role one die for each model, if the test is failed that model takes 1 wound. So what about a scenario in which you only fired a flamethrower at that same squad, and 3 hits were rolled? Could you still assign all 3 to Ozz, or would 3 different models have to each take 1 wound?
Incendiary weapons roll 1 die per model in the target unit, but then the hits are distributed in whatever way the target player desires.
Suck my Mickey
Aren't limited ammo weapons "owned" by the entire unit, so even though there could be one model left in the unit, it has all of the limited weapons until they are used?