Feed her Young:
Almost no cost acceleration. YAY! This card costs only one to use, and replaces itself with another card. The only stipulation is that you must have three shub-niggurath resources attached to your domains already to play it. I definitely rate this fairly high for any shub deck. Note that if you have no undrained domains, you can still use it to target the domain you drained to pay for it.
I don't think you can target the domain you used to pay for it right?
The Action Window in Detail
1) Action is initiated
After a player initiates an action, the
timing window starts.
For the initiation stage of any player
action, a player must go through the
following substeps, in order. The first
step is always revealing the card or
declaring the intent to use an ability.
a) Determine the cost (to either play the
card or pay for the card’s effect) or costs
(if multiple costs are necessary for the
b) Check play restrictions, including
verification and designation of applicable
targets or cards to be effected.
c) Apply any penalties to the cost(s).
(Any effects that modify a penalty are
applied to that penalty before it becomes
a part of the cost.)
d) Apply any other active modifiers
(including reducers) to the cost(s).
e) Pay the cost(s).
f) Play the card, or trigger the effect, and
proceed to step two.
Based on that, you have to check for play restrictions in step B before paying any costs. Your domain isn't drained until step E. I would think you could not play this card if you have no drained domains.
Anyone else have any thoughts?
That is a good point, badash. Oh well, I'm relatively new to the game so I will have some rules get by me. I think I'm used to M:tG where you tap lands first before using spells >.>
Keeping that in mind, its still a great card, just slightly trickier to get full use out of it.
I got an official ruling from Damon on that particular issue. You can't target the domain used to pay for Feed Her Young. I still love the card though!